A doodle a day

In October of 2023 I participated in a 31 day art challenge. The idea is to post something you did that is art related each day. There were optional prompts but I decided early on to treat these lightly. Sometimes a prompt works for me and sometimes it leads to a complete blank in my mind! I also decided to stick primarily to doodles and rough sketches – nothing complex or complete. Following are a few of the 31+ days!

This image shows 6 studies in coloured pencils and black markers- doodles. I love shading with coloured pencils and experimenting with the various colour combinations in layers. My favourites are the top left and bottom left.

This image show 6 studies in watercolour with black ink applied with a nibbed pen. I was so excited to find that I still had a pen with a nib in my ancient art supplies! My favourites are the middle left and bottom right.

I stitched a similar doodle on fabric but I don’t like it as much. I was going to do 6 of these but this is the only one that got done!

From mid October and into November I was on a hiking holiday vacation in the UK. I took a small sketchbook and a few pencils and pens with me. I was surprised that I found the time and energy most days to do a sketch! It was actually a good way to wind down the day.

On our way home from the UK we stopped to see family in Ontario. My 2 year old granddaughter had fun scribbling in my sketchbook. When I got home I added some black marker and colour, using her lines as texture and a guide to some of the marker lines. A collaborative effort! I can see more of this in my future!

I finished last year feeling very enthused about doing a rough sketch every day but of course, there were big projects and life in general to take my attention away. There is another challenge coming in February and I am looking forward to it!

Leave a comment